Orbetello

orbetello-aerea-laguna-argentario_900x

Orbetello rises on a thin finger of land sticking into the middle of the coastal lagoon.. The small island where it stands is surrounded by the Levante and Pontente Lagoon, known respectively as Tombolo della Feniglia and Tombolo della Giannella, that offer the visitor many kilometers of charming beaches. Its boat-like shape anchored in the calm waters of the Lagoon is tied to the Monte Argentario Promontory by an artificial dam built in 1841. It is a lively and busy town whose principal resourse has always been fishing. It is no accident that local recipes for the fish from the lagoon have become famous. Today it has become an ever more popular spot for tourists. This is thanks to the beauty of the sea and the enhancement and preservation of its natural surroundings with the Nature Reserve of the “Laguna di Orbetello” and the many modern accomodation facilities, especially the camping sites. It was settled by the Etruscans, as the remains of a polygonal city wall demonstrate. It was dominated by the Roman Empire to which it owes its name, although exactly what that was is still under discussion: Orvelus, Urva Tellus or Urbis Tellus? Circular city, city of herbs or city of Rome? The uncertainty remains in part because the archives were plundered in 1455. In any case, it was and is a city that rises from the sea and because of its particular geographical position has always been a desirable conquest, not only by noble Italian families, but by foreign states as well. After it passed from the Orsini family to Repubblic of Siena in 1555, it was occupied by the Spanish who proclamed it capital of the Stato dei Presidi and proceeded to build massive fortifications. The French failed to take it, but the Austrians succeeded and shortly after, in 1736, it passed to the Bourbons of Naples. Finally in 1815 it was joined to the Grand duchy of Tuscany. There are many places of interest in the neigborhood of Orbetello. The port of Talamone, a picturesque and solitary fishing village situated on a rocky promontory, is built around a 15th century citadel from which there are spectacular views of the coast and islands. The modern and well known vacation center to the south of the lagoon, Ansedonia, is equally known for its importance as an archeological site. It was there that the remains of the city of Cosa, an important Roman colony of the 3rd century B.C., was discovered. The so-called “Tagliata Etrusca” is found at seashore of this small promontory. This is a canal cut in the rock near the Spacco della Regina, a deep and mysterious cavern which seems almost mythological. During the summer, the “Festival of the Presidi”, with its wealth of well-organized and varied cultural activities, is worth taking in. (agriturismoverde.com)